Anastasia Lash Genius Waterproof Mascara Topcoat Review: Pucks and Macarons

Problem Solvers: Anastasia Beverly Hills Lash Genius Waterproof Topcoat

I like to buy things that solve problems. Really, who doesn’t? A problem I was noticing was that, before a workday had even ended, my mascara had inevitably navigated to the under-eye area and created a delightful raccoon eye effect that no one wants to have. This happened with pretty much any mascara save for L’Oreal Double Extend Beauty Tubes,  but that mascara is so dramatic that I wanted something more low-key for work or other times.

To find a solution to this issue, I went on a makeup-focused area of Reddit and asked, receiving one really glowing recommendation for Anastasia Beverly Hills Lash Genius Waterproof Topcoat. I couldn’t find it on their official website, but Ulta and Sephora both have it.

Anastasia Lash Genius Waterproof Mascara Topcoat Review: Pucks and Macarons

Photo from makeupforlife.net

The topcoat costs $21, but it’s already paid for itself in keeping mascara looking fantastic for hours and hours at a time. Even during the 90-degree days we’ve had here recently (the joys of late summer in Georgia), even when being outside for quite a while, it stays put. It stayed put after a tough workout in which I sweated a lot (usually I take my makeup off before going to the gym, but I told myself not to so I could see how the topcoat responded, for science). This goes for both of the brands I’ve tried using it on, Maybelline Full ‘n Soft and Tarte Lights, Camera, Lashes–really spanning both ends of the price spectrum there! It also softens the mascara so that your lashes aren’t so brittle.

It is hard to remove. I’m still trying to figure out what might be best for that because Lush 9 to 5 isn’t cutting it. Maybe I need to ask around again–unless you have this product and know a good way to get it off when the day is done!

2 comments

Leave a Reply

