This Dessert is Amazing

I’m not much of a cook or baker, but I saw this recipe for peanut butter cup bars on A Beautiful Mess and decided that I wanted to try making it because it seemed really easy. I like easy cooking…especially when it doesn’t involve heating up the oven, since our oven is old and doesn’t work as well anymore. This recipe involves the freezer and that is all. In fact, the most arduous part of making this recipe is just gathering all the ingredients and chopping the ones that need chopping. You can even use the microwave twice: to melt the butter and the chocolate chips.

I have since learned that apparently you can buy pre-crushed graham crackers, which I didn’t know (or see) when I was buying the supplies. Instead, I crushed them up in a bowl using the jar of peanut butter. As Tim Gunn would say, make it work. In one batch, I also tried using crunchy peanut butter and not adding the chopped peanuts because I ran out of creamy peanut butter and it was the night before Thanksgiving, meaning I did not want to battle the crowds at the grocery store. This worked well and is therefore a nice substitute, especially if you prefer crunchy peanut butter anyway or don’t want to chop peanuts (although I figure pre-chopped peanuts are also a thing as well).

The single hardest part of making these peanut butter cup bars is actually cutting them once they’ve frozen properly. I had to exert a lot of force to even get a cut in the top layer of chocolate and then the cut usually created fault lines that resulted in jagged pieces, not the lovely even pieces in the photo. The peanut butter cups on top also contribute to these uneven cuts, but honestly? Even if they’re not totally perfectly-cut, they’re incredibly delicious.

That being said, I’m using the ABM photo of these peanut butter cup bars for two reasons:

1. The photo is styled well and looks great. It’s a big reason I got interested in making this recipe.

2. Despite making this four different times, I never really got a chance to take a photo of any of the batches…because they always disappeared really quickly. At least four people at work complimented me and asked for the recipe (I made two batches for a Thanksgiving potluck).

Now, this dessert is extremely indulgent and I’d recommend having it with a nice glass of milk. But if you’re like me and you’re not much for cooking, this recipe is just perfect. You definitely need to try it!

One comment

Leave a Reply

