The Wizarding World of Harry Potter, Without Kids

I’ve been a Harry Potter fan since the beginning–I have hardcover copies of every book except the first because we borrowed that out to someone and it never was returned–and ever since the Wizarding World of Harry Potter opened at Universal Studios Orlando, I’ve wanted to go there! In fact, I recently re-discovered an article I shared in late May 2007 that talked about the announcement of Wizarding World. I had just graduated from high school and gleefully imagined myself as a college student taking a road trip down there once it opened.

Well, it took literally a decade, but the stars have finally aligned in my favor, as old Professor Trelawney might say. As fate would have it, my fiance Charlie is also a big Harry Potter fan. (I chose right, y’all.) We were recently brainstorming a vacation that would only require a few vacation days to be taken and I thought why not Orlando?

Why not, indeed! We decided to go for basically a long weekend and selected the first weekend of June. Yes, I am aware Florida is hot in June. Georgia isn’t exactly arctic at that time, so I’m used to it. Yes, even the fierce humidity and sudden afternoon rainstorms that end as quickly as they began–that’s kind of our thing, too!

Plus, we don’t have kids, so we don’t need to worry about planning around their school year–even though it would already be over by then because in Atlanta, we get those kids outta there before Memorial Day. Yep, we’re just two folks in their late 20s who have always wanted to go to Wizarding World and now we finally can. Here’s our story, plus tips and tricks that might help you too if you’re in our boat.

I’m going to split this into a series of different posts so that they don’t get too horribly long. Plus, if you’re only looking to read about one certain thing (say, Islands of Adventure, or practical tips about where to stay), you won’t have to read through the others. Although, of course, I won’t mind if you do read them all. 😉

The Booking Process

Getting There and the Hotel

Universal Studios Florida: Diagon Alley; Everything Else

Islands of Adventure

Outside the Parks

If you have any other questions about going to Wizarding World of Harry Potter, especially if you happen to be traveling as millennials sans kids, please don’t hesitate to ask!

6 comments

Leave a Reply

